Monday, 12 November 2007

Stonewall Awards

The annual Stonewall awards took place last week and the winners were:

Publication of the Year The Guardian For supportive coverage of a wealth of lesbian and gay issues during the last 12 months across both its news and features sections

Politician of the Year Rt Hon Alan Johnson MP, Secretary of State for Health, and Angela Eagle MP, Treasury Minister, joint winners. For their work on the 2007 Sexual Orientation Regulations

Writer of the Year Val McDermid For this year’s best-selling crime thriller Beneath the Bleeding. Her Wire in the Blood has been an award-winning ITV series

Sports Personality of the Year Nigel Owens Openly-gay international rugby referee who made his pioneering Rugby World Cup debut in France in October 2007

Bigot of the Year The Bishop of Hereford, Anthony Priddis An Employment Tribunal found in July that the Bishop unlawfully withdrew a job offer to a gay youth worker after subjecting him to humiliating personal questioning

Journalist of the Year Philip Hensher, The Independent Regularly features lesbian and gay issues objectively in a column that is compellingly forthright, insightful and acerbic

Broadcast of the Year Hollyoaks, Channel 4 For its sympathetic and convincing handling of the gritty and emotional storyline about the developing relationship between teenagers John Paul and Craig

Stonewall & Barclays Community Group of the Year London Lesbian and Gay Switchboard For providing unsung 24-hour support and advice to thousands of gay people. Winner of a £5000 cheque presented by Barclays group Vice Chairman Gary Hoffman

Entertainer of the Year Dan Gillespie Sells Openly-gay lead singer of the hugely successful band The Feeling, the most widely-played on UK radio in last 12 months

Hero of the Year Antony Grey Former Secretary of the Homosexual Law Reform Society, he spearheaded the campaign which resulted in the first partial decriminalisation of homosexuality in 1967

Share this:

Copyright © 2014 Law and Sexuality. Designed by OddThemes | Distributed By Gooyaabi Templates